KeyClu is a good app, actively maintained, and free. If all you want is a panel that shows the frontmost app's shortcuts when you ask, use KeyClu. This page is about what's different.
A shortcut reference, KeyClu included, waits to be asked. You realise you don't know a shortcut, open the tool, and read it. That only helps when you already know you're missing something.
The costly case is the one you never notice: going to the menu forty times a week for a command that had a shortcut all along. You don't look it up, because it doesn't occur to you there's anything to look up.
Coach mode is for that. When you pick a menu command by hand that has a shortcut, Keysi shows one quiet reminder you can dismiss, then stops mentioning the ones you've started using. A cooldown keeps it from becoming noise, you can mute it per shortcut or entirely in Settings ▸ Coach, and it keeps a list of what you're still learning so you can work through it.
It also measures whether it worked. Keysi times your own menu trips (from the menu opening to your pick), so it can say "your menu trips typically take 2.4s, and you've skipped 412 of them." Both numbers are counted, not estimated, and both are shown so you can check the arithmetic.
That's why the cheat sheet itself is free here. I'm not going to charge for a reference you can already get for nothing. The $14.99 is for the part that makes the reference unnecessary.
The names sound alike. KeyClu's Learn hides shortcuts you already know, so the list shows what's still unfamiliar when you open it. It's a good idea and it works well.
It still only acts when you open KeyClu, and it filters what's shown. Coach acts when you didn't open anything, for the shortcut you weren't going to look up.
Compared on 2026-09-09 against KeyClu's own website, and re-checked there on 2026-10-06. Where this page says Keysi does something KeyClu doesn't, it means KeyClu's site doesn't mention it, not that it's provably absent. Check KeyClu directly rather than taking a competitor's word.
Keysi is not the only app that coaches. Keylume is a menu-bar app that shows the active app's shortcuts while you hold the right ⌘ key, read live from its menu bar, and shows a small toast ("Use ⌘N instead") when you click a menu item that has a shortcut. It also tracks which shortcuts you've adopted and which need practice, runs locally, and says it never logs keystrokes. It's $12 once for 3 Macs, with a 14-day free trial. If those nudges are what you want, it's a good app and the cheaper one. Try it.
What's different, going by Keylume's own site on 2026-10-06:
KeyMinder does what Keysi's free tier does, and it's free and open source (GPLv3). It reads the frontmost app's menu bar live, opens on a hotkey or a double-tap of ⌘, ⌥ or ⌃, lets you search and click a row to run it, and adds favourites, ignore lists, the macOS system shortcuts, Markdown export, a flash-card quiz and 24 languages. If you want an open-source lookup panel, it's a good one. Use it.
What's different, going by KeyMinder's own site on 2026-10-11:
Where KeyMinder is ahead: it's open source, and it claims more languages (24 on its site, 17 in its README, against Keysi's 17). Both can sync settings through iCloud Drive: Keysi through a folder of your choice, off until you turn it on.
KeyCue, Keylume, KeyMinder and the discontinued CheatSheet belong here too. Only claims confirmable on each project's own site are marked, apart from the click-to-run row, whose sources footnote 7 names. Where a site doesn't say either way, the table says so instead of guessing.
| Feature | Keysi | KeyCue | KeyClu | Keylume6 | KeyMinder8 | CheatSheet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shows the frontmost app's shortcuts | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes — hold right ⌘ | Yes — hotkey or double-tap ⌘, ⌥ or ⌃ | Yes |
| Click a row to run it | Yes, free | Yes, per Ergonis's help centre7 | Not stated on KeyClu's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on Keylume's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Yes | Yes, while holding ⌘, per MacStories' review7 |
| Reminds you when you use the menu for a command with a shortcut | Yes — Coach mode, with Pro | Not stated on KeyCue's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on KeyClu's site (checked 2026-10-06)2 | Yes — Coaching Nudges | Not stated on KeyMinder's site (checked 2026-10-11) | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Tracks which shortcuts you've started using | Yes — progress figures, with Pro | Not stated on KeyCue's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on KeyClu's site (checked 2026-10-06)2 | Yes — Usage Analytics | Not stated on KeyMinder's site (checked 2026-10-11) | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Practice drills with spaced repetition | Yes — Practice Mode: one drill a day free, unlimited with Pro | Not stated on KeyCue's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on KeyClu's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on Keylume's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated; it has a flash-card quiz (checked 2026-10-11) | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Warns when macOS or another app will intercept a shortcut | Yes | Not stated on KeyCue's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on KeyClu's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on Keylume's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated; it lists the macOS system shortcuts (checked 2026-10-11) | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Custom sheets for apps with no menu bar | Yes — fourteen built in (Figma, Slack, Vim, tmux and ten more), plus a built-in editor for your own | Not stated on KeyCue's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Yes — ready-made sets to import, plus registering your own3 | Not stated on Keylume's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated on KeyMinder's site (checked 2026-10-11) | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Export an app's shortcuts to a file | Yes — Markdown or printable PDF free; a desktop picture with Pro | Not stated on KeyCue's site (checked 2026-10-06)5 | Yes — Markdown | Not stated on Keylume's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Yes — Markdown | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Localized into multiple languages | Yes — 17 languages | Yes — English, German and French, per its pricing page | Yes — English, German, Chinese and Japanese built in4; more via Crowdin | Not stated on Keylume's site (checked 2026-10-06) | Yes — 24 languages, per its site | Not stated; its page is gone (redirects to GrandTotal, checked 2026-10-06) |
| Price | Free with no time limit; Pro $14.99 once | $39.99 once for 2 devices (no future major versions), or $19.99/yr for 31 | Free | $12 once for 3 Macs, after a 14-day free trial | Free | Discontinued |
| Actively maintained (checked 2026-10-06) | Yes | Yes — 11.2.1, Aug 2026 | Yes — v0.33, Aug 2026 | v1.1.2 current; release dates not stated | Yes — v1.0.195, Sep 2026 | No — discontinued on macOS Sonoma |
| Distribution | Direct download, notarized | Direct download | Free download from GitHub or Homebrew; BSD-3-Clause-Clear licence | Direct download; licence sold via Ko-fi | Direct download or Homebrew; GPLv3 open source | Was direct download |
Compared on 2026-09-09 and re-checked on 2026-10-06, against each project's own website: ergonis.com/en/keycue/features, sergii.tatarenkov.name/apps/keyclu, keylume.app, keyminder.app. CheatSheet's page now redirects to Media Atelier's GrandTotal; its column comes from the archived page, which says it was discontinued because it no longer works with macOS Sonoma. 1 KeyCue pricing read from Ergonis's own pricing page on 2026-09-11 and again on 2026-10-06: Basic $39.99 one-time for 2 devices, covering minor updates within the current major version only; Advanced $19.99/yr for 3 devices, covering major updates; Business $39.99/yr per user for 5 devices. All excluding VAT; their wording is "All prices excl. VAT." 2 KeyClu has a "Learn" feature, but it hides shortcuts you already know. It doesn't teach the ones you're missing, which is the opposite direction from Coach mode. 4 KeyClu's own feature line now reads "English, German, Chinese and Japanese out of the box", with a link to request more on Crowdin. Re-verified 2026-10-06. 5 Checked on 2026-09-13 against KeyCue's features page and its product page: neither states an export, save or print capability. 3 KeyClu offers "Ready-made Sets" you import from KeyClu Extensions, lets you register your own shortcuts manually, and pairs with a separate CustomShortcuts app. Its site also lists "Export to Markdown". "Not stated" means the feature isn't mentioned on that project's site either way, not that it's absent. KeyClu's row re-checked against its own page on 2026-09-11 (free, v0.33): click-to-run and interception warnings are not mentioned there, and the two footnotes above quote what it does say. The reminder, adoption-tracking, practice-drill and interception rows were re-checked for KeyCue and KeyClu on 2026-10-06; neither site mentions them. 7 Not every competitor's own product page says so, so this row cites what does: Ergonis's help-centre article "How to start with KeyCue" says its window's items can be clicked to run the command (seen in search on 2026-10-06; the page itself refuses automated reads), and MacStories' CheatSheet review says you could click commands while holding ⌘. Click-to-run is not something only Keysi does. 6 Keylume read from its own site on 2026-10-06 (v1.1.2, macOS 14 or later, universal): a shortcut overlay while you hold right ⌘, "Coaching Nudges" and "Usage Analytics"; $12 one-time for 3 Macs, with free updates; "fully functional for 14 days", after which a licence is needed to keep using it. The site has no separate changelog or FAQ page to check further. 8 KeyMinder read from its own site and its GitHub repository on 2026-10-11 (v1.0.195, Sep 14 2026, macOS 14 or later): free, GPLv3 from v1.0.129; opens on a hotkey (⌥⌘K by default) or a double-tap of ⌘, ⌥ or ⌃; click or Tab to run; Quiz Mode flash cards; a system shortcuts section; Markdown export; experimental iCloud settings sync. Its site says 24 languages and its README lists 17.
Run Keysi for a week in the app you use most and see how often Coach catches you. If it's rarely, you already know your shortcuts, and KeyClu or Keysi's free tier is the right call. The $14.99 only makes sense if it's more often than you'd like. Every install starts with 14 days of Keysi Pro, no account or card, and ends in the free tier, not a locked app. Pro refunds are 30 days, no questions asked.
Decide it by running it. The cheat sheet is free either way, and every install starts with 14 days of Pro.